Series Disarmament - S-0880

Identity area

Reference code





  • 1961 - 1971 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Size/Number of Items/Parts: 2.5 linear ft. of textual records, No. of Boxes: 5

Context area

Name of creator

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Series consists of cables, aide-memoires, agenda, handwritten notes, rules of procedure, drafts, minutes of meetings, press releases, Security Council resolutions, minutes of conferences, reports, letters, memoranda, newspaper clippings, situation reports, press statements, General Assembly documents, and General Assembly resolutions. Subjects include but are not limited to the following: nuclear weapons; chemical and biological warfare; proposed germ warfare ban; proposed nuclear test ban treaties; nuclear strategies; Strategic Arms Limitations Talks (SALT); Conference of Eighteen-nation Committee on Disarmament; Conference of Non-Nuclear Weapons States; Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons; International Atomic Energy Agency; "Security Without Nuclear Weapons," a paper by Duncan Sandys; economic and social consequences of the arms race and weapons spending; and General Assembly Resolution 1664 (XVI), which suggested that non-nuclear weapons producing states should agree to continue not producing or buying nuclear weapons. Correspondents include U Thant, Secretary-General; Alexei E. Nesterenko, Under-Secretary for Political and Security Council Affairs; M.A. Vellodi, Deputy to the Under-Secretary, Political and Security Council Affairs; M.A. Vellodi, Director, Department of Political and Security Council Affairs; L.N. Kutakov, Under-Secretary for Political and Security Council Affairs; C.V. Narasimhan, Under Secretary-General for General Assembly Affairs and Chef de Cabinet; Jose Rolz-Bennett, Under Secretary-General for Special Political Affairs; M.E. Chacko, Officer-in-Charge, Department of Political and Security Council Affairs; Omar Loutfe; V.P. Suslov, Under-Secretary, Political and Security Council Affairs; William Epstein, Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary-General, European Office of the UN; D. Protitch, Special Representative of the Secretary-General to the Eighteen-Nation Committee on Disarmament; Pier P. Spinelli, Director-General of United Nations Office in Geneva; Phillippe de Seynes, Under-Secretary for Economic and Social Affairs; William Epstein, Director, Disarmament Affairs Division, Department of Political and Security Council Affairs; Constantin A. Stavropoulos, Legal Counsel; and Ilkka Pastinen, Special Representative of the Secretary-General to the Conference of the Committee on Disarmament. Files are arranged by subject in a loose chronological order. U Thant was Secretary-General from 1961 to 1971.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement


Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

File list available

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related to: 08-11-F001-2: Digital Scanning - Sample Link to Related Accessions or Archival Record Series - Box & folders that have been identifed as high priotrity.Link to related records -see curent list. Also may attach pdf prints of TRIM reports fat various time.

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Previous number(s)


Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Disclosure policy

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places