Showing 103 results

United Nations Executive Office of the Secretary-General (EOSG) (1946-present) Series
Advanced search options
Print preview View:

Protocol and Liaison - subject files

Series documents the activities of the Protocol and Liaison Section - matters relating to the United Nations flag code, to security, to the hospitality committee, and to national holiday commemorations of member states. Records consist of correspondence, memoranda, commercial publications, and United Nations official documents. Correspondents include Secretaries-General UThant and Kurt Waldheim, Chiefs of Protocol Sinan A. Korle and Pierre de Meulemeester, and the Chair of Hospitality Committee for United Nations Delegations Dorothy Hirshon. Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Legal Affairs - subject files

UN. Chef de Cabinet - 1961-1973: Narasimhan
Under-Secretary-General for General Assembly Affairs - 1962-1967: Narasimhan

Series consists of correspondence, memoranda, reports, telegrams, code cables - numbered and unnumbered and United Nations documents relating to the office of Legal Affairs. Consists of reports from committees, commissions and conferences including the Definition of Aggression, International Law Commission, United Nations War Crimes Commission, Ocean Resources Investigations, and the Niger River Conference; and opinions relating to the Independence Movement of Puerto Rico, diplomatic immunity, incidents of violence to United Nations offices away from headquarters, fisheries jurisdiction, and fundraising activities in support of the United Nations. Correspondents include Secretary-General U Thant, Special Representative of the Secretary-General to the Conference of the 18 Nation Committee of Disarmament D. Protitch, Under-Secretary for Economic and Social Affairs Philippe de Seynes, Legal Counsel C.A. Stavropoulos, Under-Secretaries for Political and Security Council Affairs A.E. Nesterenko and L.N. Kutakov.

Accession numbers: A/538, 67/184, 74/19, 74/74.

See also records series # S-0181.

Secretary-General's invitations - records

Series consists of correspondence and memoranda, formal invitations, programmes, guest lists and seating plans relating to parties, receptions, luncheons, dinners, interviews, presentations and speaking engagements of the Secretary-General and other top echelon officials. Includes invitations accepted and declined, confirmations and letters of thanks. Correspondents include Secretaries-General Trygve Lie and Dag Hammarskjold; A. Sweetser, Director of the Washington D.C. United Nations Information Centre; and J. de Noue, Chief of Protocol and Liaison Section. Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Catalogue of logs - cables, memos, letters

UN. Chef de Cabinet - 1961-1973: Narasimhan; 1979-1981: Ahmed; 1982-1993: Dayal
UN. Executive Assistant to the Secretary-General - 1974: Kittani and Ismat; 1975: Ahmed and Kittani; 1976-1978: Ahmed

Series consists of logs of cables, letters and memoranda that were received by the Executive Office of the Secretary-General. Logs record: date received; date of the cable; letter or memorandum; to; from; subject; and sent to. Correspondents include Secretaries-General Kurt Waldheim and Javier Perez de Cuellar.

Accession number: 1992/77, boxes 1-9.

Actual series size: 13 boxes.


Chef de Cabinet - special personnel cases

UN. EOSG/OSG/Executive Assistant to the Secretary-General - 1946-1961: Cordier; 1974: Kittani and Ismat; 1975: Ahmed and Kittani; 1976-1978: Ahmed
UN. OSG/Chef de Cabinet - 1961-1973: Narasimhan; 1979-1981: Ahmed; 1982-1993: Dayal

Series consists of correspondence, reports, United Nations documents, code cables - incoming and outgoing, news clippings, and press releases relating to personnel policy disagreements; UN personnel detained by governments;and salary supplements. Includes the opinions and recommendations of the International Court of Justice. One personne case is from 1953, while the rest date from 1973 to 1987. Correspondents include Secretary-General Kurt Waldheim and Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs E. Suy.

Accession number: 1994/190, box 1 - 1 box is missing.

Actual series size: 1 box.


Secretary-General meetings with top echelon officials

UN.EOSG/ OSG/Executive Assistant to the Secretary-General - 1946-1961: Cordier; 1974: Kittani and Ismat; 1975: Ahmed and Kittani; 1976: Ahmed
UN. EOSG/OSG/Chef de Cabinet - 1961: Narasimhan; 1979-1981: Ahmed; 1982-1993: Dayal

Series consists of meeting agendas and notices, lists of participants, notes for the Secretary-General, and summary of conclusions relating to meetings with Under-Secretaries- and Assistant-Secretaries General - 1973-1982 and the Secretary-General's private meetings - 1948-1957. Correspondents include Secretaries-General Trygve Lie, Dag Hammarskjold, Kurt Waldheim and Javier Perez de Cuellar; and Chief of Staff Jean Claude Aime.

Accession number: 1994/190, box 2.

Actual series size: 2 boxes.


Political and security matters - 600 series - numbered subject files

Series relates to the unification and rehabilitation of Korea, to peacekeeping operations and disarmament generally, to outer space activities, to international incidents, and to disputes.

Records consist of administrative and working files which include correspondence, memoranda, annual reports, incoming and outgoing clear cables, press releases, and United Nations official documents relating to political and security matters.

Correspondents include Secretary-U Thant, Under-Secretary-for Special Political Affairs Ralph Bunche, Assistant Secretary-for Inter-Agency Affairs I. Kittani, Under Secretary for Political and Security Council Affairs A. E. Nesterenko, Deputy Chef de Cabinet and later Under-Secretary for Special Political Affairs Jose Rolz Bennett, and Legal Counsel C. A. Stavropoulos. Arranged in numbered subject categories.

Office of Special Political Questions

Series includes sub-series DAG-1/8.0 and Accession 1981/0009.

In 1977, served as a clearing-house for information on all aspects of the assistance programme to Lesotho, regarding the complaints by Lesotho against South Africa in regards to its economic dependence on South Africa. In 1978, the Office directed two missions to investigate the South African student refugee problem in Botswana, Lesotho, Swaziland and Zambia. - YUN, 1977 The Assistant Secretary-General was Abdulrahim Abby Farah - 1973-1978.

Results 61 to 70 of 103