Showing 1614 results


Series documents general administrative activities of General Services, Geneva office operations, records management, Telecommunications, Buildings and Facilities management, Travel and Transportation, restaurant facilities, real estate transactions, and security matters. Records consist of correspondence, reports, memoranda, United Nations official documents, and clear cables. Correspondents include Secretaries-General U Thant and Kurt Waldheim, and Under-Secretary and Director of General Services D. B. Vaughan. Arranged in numbered subject categories.

Series consists of correspondence, memoranda, clear cables, periodic progress reports, some commission and committee minutes, and speeches and surveys relating to the general administration of the Secretariat. Subjects relate to facilities management and headquarters, personnel matters, departmental and organizational restructuring including organization charts - 1947-1948, 1948 budget issues, advisory committee recommendations, flag protocol, meeting agendas, communication policies including the establishment of a radio network in India, speeches by delegates in connection with their United Nations work, and the development of the United Nations International School. Correspondents include Secretaries-General Trygve Lie and Dag Hammarskjold; Leo Malania, Assistant to the Executive Assistant to the Secretary-General; D.B. Vaughan, Assistant Secretary-General and Director of General Services; C.V. Narasimhan, Under-Secretary-General for Special Political Affairs; Ralph Bunche, Under-Secretary-General - without a department; Brian Urquhart, Senior Officer to Ralph Bunche; and A. Sobolev, Assistant Secretary-General for Department of Security Council Affairs.

Accession numbers: A/399, 63/431, A/211, 62/1107, A/212, 62/1109, 62/1106, A/498, A/391, 62/1120, A/384, 62/1104, A/656

S-0725 · Series · 1950 - 1956
Part of Field Service and Successor Bodies (1948-1982)

Series consists of correspondence, memoranda, incoming and outgoing cables, telegrams, invoices, itineraries, programs, applications for employment, invitations, handwritten notes, lists, and reports.

Subjects include but are not limited to the following - movements of personal effects; use of UN cars; travel plans; exchange rate information; finances; immunity of UN observers; legal matters; personnel; UN Plebiscite Commission in Trans-Volta Togoland; departure of UN staff; itineraries for various trips; UN radio in Togoland; and UN film unit.

Correspondents include George Lansky, Chief, Field Operations Services; G.D. Howard, Political Affairs Officer, UNPCT; H.A. Wieschhoff, Principal Secretary; Victor Mills, Administrative Officer; William McCaw, Deputy Controller; J.J. Cebe-Harbersky, UN Observers; C. Jakhelln; and R. de Roussey de Sales, Information Officer.

United Nations Commission for Unification and Rehabilitation of Korea (UNCURK)

Series consists of correspondence, cables, handwritten documents, administrative reports, area reports, field service reports, forms, draft press releases, draft addresses and speeches, draft resolutions, annexes, agendas, minutes of meetings, administrative instructions, personnel directives, authorization letters, periodicals, news clippings, bills of sale, vouchers, inventories, itineraries, lists, indexes, registers, logs, aides memoires, protocol files, blueprints, drawings, and photographs. Subjects include but are not limited to the following: UNCURK commissions and committees; field trips; radio equipment; personnel; administrative procedures; logistical support; postal procedures; ration controls; financial budgets; income tax; travel arrangements; health insurance; property survey board; Status of Forces Amendment (SOFA); Convention on Privileges and Immunity of the UN; Presidential Election of 1971; National Assembly Election of 1971; National Conference for Unification Elections in 1972; and UN Peace Medal. Correspondents include Kurt Waldheim, UN Secretary-General; Ali Nekunam, Principal Secretary, UNCURK; Zouheir Kuzbari, Principal Secretary, UNCURK; Bulend Kestelli, Chairman, Committee of UNCURK; George A. Humphries, Chief Administrative Officer, UNCURK; James Whyte, Chief Administrative Officer, UNCURK; and William L. Magistretti, Acting Director, UN Information Centre, Tokyo.

S-0605 · Series · 1938 - 1948
Part of United Nations Special Committee on Palestine (UNSCOP) (1947)

Office of the Special Assistant to the Personal Representative of the Secretary-General

Series consists of correspondence, memoranda, incoming and outgoing cables, itineraries, reports, agendas for meetings, maps of Palestine, notes from informal meetings, and written testimonies. Subjects include but are not limited to the following: outline of a confederation scheme; draft of rules of procedure for hearings, testimonies, and expert advice; Arab and Jewish claims and formal disagreements; drafts of project to create a federal state; code list; proposals, correspondence and written testimonies from many Jewish and Arab organizations including the Arab Bank, Mr. David Ben-Gurion of the Jewish Agency for Palestine, The Central Committee of the Communist Party of Palestine, Hadassah: The Women's Zionist Organization of America, and League for Jewish-Arab Rapprochement and Cooperation. Correspondents include Secretary-General Dr. Ralph Bunche; Mr. Emil Sandstrop, Chairman, UNSCOP;and Peter Anker, UN Mission Somoa.

United Nations Commission for Unification and Rehabilitation of Korea; Office of the Principal Secretary

Series consists of correspondence, telegrams, summary records, tables of content, annexes, resolutions, incoming and outgoing administrative reports, personnel directives, text extracts, news clippings, press releases, and transcripts of television interviews. Subjects include but are not limited to the following: policy matters; SECCO affairs; UNCURK mandate; UN agencies; the constitution of the Republic of Korea; logistical support; incidents; and politcal prisoners. Correspondents include U Thant, UN Secretary-General; Dag Hammerskjold, UN Secretary-General; Chote Klongvicha, Chairman, UNCURK; Andrew Cordier, Executive Assistant to Secretary General; Ali Nekunam, Principal Secretary, UNCURK; Ismail R. Khalidi, Principal Secretary, UNCURK; David Hall, Principal Secretary, UNCURK; and C.V. Narashimhan, Cabinet Chief of the UN.