International Conference on the Former Yugoslavia (ICFY)

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

International Conference on the Former Yugoslavia (ICFY)

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The International Conference on the Former Yugoslavia (ICFY) was established at The London International Conference on the Former Yugoslavia, which was held on 26-27 August 1992. Led jointly by the United Nations and the European Community, the ICFY provided a framework for the negotiation of peace in the former Yugoslavia. The Secretary-General and the President of the European Community were Permanent Co-Chairmen, and each had a representative Co-Chairman.

ICFY records document the Co-Chairmen’s reporting of diplomatic and operational developments directly to Secretary-General Boutros Boutros-Ghali, the Under-Secretary-General for Peacekeeping Operations, as well as to UNPROFOR Theatre Headquarters in Zagreb, Croatia.

The position of the Secretary-General’s Co-Chairman was held by:

Cyrus R. Vance, 26 August 1992 - 1 May 1993
Thorvald Stoltenberg, 1 May 1993 - 30 January 1996

The position of the President of the European Community’s Co-Chairman was held by:

Lord David Owen, 26 August 1992 - 9 June 1995
Carl Bildt, 9 June 1995 - 30 January 1996

The work of the ICFY was carried out by the Steering Committee, which was comprised of delegations of government representatives, representatives of United Nations agencies, and representatives of intergovernmental organizations. The following six working groups were established at The London Conference:

Working Group on Bosnia and Herzegovina
Working Group on Confidence and Security-Building and Verification Measures
Economic Issues Working Group
Working Group on Ethnic and National Communities and Minorities
Humanitarian Issues Working Group
Working Group on Secession Issues

The Secretariat of the ICFY was located at the Palais des Nations, in Geneva, Switzerland. The staff of the ICFY consisted of: Special Advisors, Political Advisors, Military Advisors, and a Legal Advisor to the Co-Chairmen; Spokesmen for the ICFY; and assistants and secretaries employed at the Secretariat.

The ICFY was dissolved on 30 January 1996.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places