UN. Department of Economic Affairs

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

UN. Department of Economic Affairs

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) was established in 1955 and was restructured numerous times. DESA’s structure was reorganized most recently during the 1997 reform package that included a number of changes to the Secretariat structure. DESA provides support in the General Assembly and in the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), its functional commissions and expert bodies on development issues. As of 2015, DESA is comprised of the following divisions: Population; Social Policy and Development; Public Administration and Development Management; Statistics; Financing for Development; United Nations Forum on Forests; Development Policy and Analysis; ECOSOC Support and Co-ordination; and Capacity Development Office.

The mission of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) is to “promote development for all,” with a focus on economic, social and environmental challenges. There are numerous predecessor organizations that have contributed to DESA's mission, including the Department of Economic Affairs (1946-1954); Department of Social Affairs (1946-1954); Technical Assistance Administration (TAA) (1950-1958); United Nations Office of Interagency Affairs and Coordination (IAAC) (1969-1977); Development and International Economic Cooperation (DIESA) (1978-1991); the Office of the Director-General for Development and International Economic Co-operation (1978-1991); Department of Technical Co-operation for Development (DTCD) (1978-1991); Department of Economic and Social Development (1992); Department for Policy Coordination and Sustainable Development (1992-1996); Department for Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis (1993-1996); Department for Development Support and Management Services (1993-1996). See individual subfonds for administrative histories of each predecessor organization. The USG from 1997-2002 was Nitin Desai, succeeded by José Antonio Ocampo (2003-2007), Sha Zukang (2007- 2012), and Mr. Wu Hongbo (2012-present).


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places