UN. Office for Special Political Affairs

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

UN. Office for Special Political Affairs

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


Up to the late 1980s, peacekeeping missions were operated by six officials in the United Nations Office of Special Political Affairs. This office was created by Dag Hammarskjöld in response to the Cold War stalemates occurring in the Secretariat. Originally, the office had both an American and a Soviet official as equals. They took on projects that were not specifically under the mandate of the Secretariat, like conflict control. For the first three years (1955-1957), the office was referred to as the Office of Under-Secretaries without Department. The first Under-Secretaries-General were Ralph J. Bunche (1955-1970) and Ilya S. Tchernychev (1955-1956), followed by Anatoly F. Dobrynin (1957), Sir Humphery Trevelyan (1958), C.V. Narasimhan (1959-1961), Omar Loutfi (1962), Dragoslav Protitch (1963-1964), Jose Rolz-Bennett (1965-1970), Roberto E. Guyer (1971-1978), Brian E. Urquhart (1972-1985) (see also AG-023), Javier Perez (1979-1980), Diego Cordovez (1981-1988), and Marrack I. Goulding (1986-1991).


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places